Saturday, September 8, 2012

Mary Nakhumicha Zakayo wins Whan Youn Dai Award

Kenya’s Mary Nakhumicha Zakayo and Ireland’s Michael McKillop have been announced by the International Paralympic Committee (IPC) as the 2012 winners of the Whang Youn Dai Achievement Award.  
The two athletes were selected for exemplifying the best spirit of the Paralmypic Games, and they will each receive a gold medal at the closing ceremony of the London 2012 Paralympics scheduled for Sunday, September 9. 

Zakayo, who participated in the shot put F57 and javelin, was honored for changing the face of Paralmpic sport in the African Continent.    

 “Because of my success in field events more women with disabilities in my community and in Kenya have shown interest in sports,” Zakayo said. 
“People with disabilities, especially women are now getting involved in sports not just in athletics and field events but also in other sports as well like wheelchair basketball and sitting volleyball.
“The Paralympics Movement is spreading in my country and opens opportunities for people with disabilities and help change the perceptions towards people with disabilities in a positive way.”

McKillop, who lit up the Olympic Stadium in London with gold-medal winning races in the 800m and 1,500m T37 events, consistently dedicates time to helping and encouraging thousands of schoolchildren throughout Ireland. He believes all Paralympians should help promote their own sports and serve as role models for the next generation.
The award will be presented by IPC’s Vice President Greg Hartung and Dr. Whang Youn Dai.
Source: Paralympics Ireland 

About Whan Youn Award

Whang Youn Dai Achievement Award (formally Whang Youn Dai Overcome Prize) mission is to honor the athletes who see beyond their limitation and who has a vision to change the world through Sports and Paralympic Games.
Whang Youn Dai Achievement Award is intended to enhance the will of people with disabilities to overcome their adversities through the pursuit of excellence in sports and the participation in the Paralympic Games. The prize is contributed to those athletes who best exemplify the true human spirit to overcome the adversities by participating in sports. The Prizewinner is selected regardless of nationality, race, gender, religion, ideology, and performance at the Games.
The Awards were established in 1988 by the International Co-ordination Committee (ICC), the predecessor of the IPC in honor of Dr. Whang Youn Dai’s lifelong commitment. 

Photo Courtesy of Kenya Yetu Mag Photostream 

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...