Thursday, September 20, 2012

Safaricom Safari Sevens Draw Released

The draw for the 17th edition of the Safaricom Safari Sevens was released on Wednesday where 16 elite teams are banded into 4 pools of 4 teams each.

Here is the draw:
Pool ‘A’
·         Samurai (New Zealand)
·         Shujaa (Kenya)
·         Western Province (South Africa)
·         Uganda Kobs
Pool ‘B’
·         Kenya
·         Grenobe (France)
·         Cranes (Uganda)
·         Rwanda
Pool ‘C’
·         Spain
·         Bristol Barracudas (England)
·         Hamilton Raiders (South Africa)
·         Chairman’s Select (Kenya)
Pool ‘D’
·         Portugal
·         South Africa’s Sevens Elite Player Development Squad (formerly Emerging Boks)  
·         Zambia
·         Universities Select (Kenya)
The tournament will kick off on Thursday at RFUEA and Impala grounds with Mtaa Seniors and Age Grade set to grace the opening ceremony.
The Age Grade tournament features Girls U-19 as well as the Boys U-14 and U-12, while the Mtaa Seniors features sides from Nairobi’s 8 constituencies namely Makadara, Westlands, Langata, Kasarani, Dagoretti, Starehe, Kamakunji and Embakasi.           

Kenya Harlequins omitted from 2012 Safari Sevens  
Kenya Harlequins will not participate in this year’s Safari Sevens as expected; their slot was taken by debutant Universities Select. Quins are blaming the Kenya Rugby Union for their omission from the event.  
The rugby fraternity widely expected Quins to participate in the Safari Sevens after winning the 2012 National Sevens Circuit.  

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...