Sunday, October 7, 2012

Mbugua and Madila win Wahome Mutahi Literary Prize

Kenyan writer and journalist, Ng’ang’a Mbugua and Jeff Madila are the winners of the sixth edition of Wahome Mutahi Literary Prize.
Mbugua’s book, ‘Different Colours’ emerged the winner in the English category of the bi-annual award after facing stiff competition from Dr Yusuf Dawood’s ‘Eye of the Storm’ and David Mulwa’s ‘We Come in Peace’.

This is the second time in a row; the 38-year-old who works with the Business Daily has bagged the prestigious writers’ award after winning back in 2010 through his novella, ‘Terrorists of the Aberdare’.

The book, which is published by Big Books, took four years of work and six revisions before being published last year.
In the Kiswahili category, Jeff Madila took top honors with his book 'Sikitiko la masaa Mbaya (JKF)’. Madila also faced formidable challenge from ‘Pamba’ by John Habwe (the 2010 winner through his book ‘Cheche za Moto’) and Mwenda Mbatia’s Msururu wa Usaliti’.
This year’s judging panel comprised of University of Nairobi’s Prof Henry Indangasi, Prof Wangari Mwai of Kenyatta University and Dr Tom Odhiambo of University of Nairobi.
The winners walked away with certificates and cash reward of Sh50, 000 to facilitate their writing.

About the awards
Established in 2006, the awards are in recognition of the late humorist and novelist Wahome ‘Whispers’ Mutahi’s  contribution to literature in Kenya.
The awards, which are held every two years, are organized by Kenya Publishers Association and take place at the end of the annual Nairobi International Book Fair.

Anthony Mugo wins the inaugural Burt Award

Author Anthony Mugo emerged the winner of the inaugural Burt Award For African Writing with his book ‘Never Say Never’.
The book published by Longhorn Publishers beat Edward Mwangi’s ‘The Delegate’ (Moran Publishers) and Ngumi Kibera’s ‘The Devil’s Hill’ (Longhorn) to claim the award.
The winner pocketed a cool Sh1 million while first and second runners-up received Sh 500,000 and Sh250,000 respectively.  
The winners will have a good start, as NBDCK intends to purchase 3,000 copies of each of the winning titles and distribute them at no cost to schools they work with while publishers are expected to sell at least 2,000 copies.
The awards are organized by the National Book Development Council of Kenya (NBDCK) and Canadian Organization for Development through Education (CODE) with the support of a Canadian patron Mr. Bill Burt. 

                  ‘Always be ready to speak your mind, and a base man will avoid you.’ – William Blake

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...