Tuesday, June 12, 2012

Rally King, Ian Duncan

Born in June 23, 1961 Ian Duncan stands in the Crème de la crème of Kenya rally drivers. He held the Kenyan National Rally Champion a record six times (1987, 1988, 1989, 1991, 2000, & 2011). He also recorded a remarkable win in the 1994, 42nd Trustbank Safari Rally (World Rally Championship) driving Toyota Celica Turbo 4WD navigated by David Williamson.

 Duncan has also won the prestigious Guru Nanak Rally a record 11 times. In late 2011, he was appointed the chairman of the Kenya Rally Drivers Association (KRDA) replacing Mark Tilbury.
He attended St. Mary’s High School and later pursued his passion of motorcycles and cars. Though few know him as a motocross driver, he was crowned winner in the national 125 cc division in the years of 1979 and 1980.
In 1983, he got his first chance in the Safari Rally driving a Nissan pick-up navigated by Gavin Bennett, finishing position nine.
His first victory in the national rally came in the 1987 Nakuru Rally while driving a Toyota Celica twin-Cam turbo navigated by Ian Munro. 1987 was a good year for Duncan as he also won his first national championship and was awarded the National Motor Sportsman of the Year.
Ian Duncan in the Ford Mustang during the 2007 KNRC events

He has competed in the WRC rallies having his personal best of 8th position and winning Group N class in a Subaru Legacy at the 1990, 307th Acropolis Rally in Greece, navigated by Yvonne Mehta.
Apart from great wins at the Kenya National Rally Championship (KNRC) and Guru Nanak Rally, Duncan has also won the Rhino Charge in 1998, 2006 and 2007.
In 2008, he won the national autocross championship and in 2009, he won the Safari classic rally driving a 1967 Ford Mustang navigated by Amaar Slatch.
In 2010, Duncan was crowned the Motor Sports Personality of the Year.
His recent rivalry with Carl Tundo leaves many to enjoy the spirited competition in the Kenya Rally scene.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...