Sunday, September 2, 2012

KCB win 2012 Prinsloo Sevens in Nakuru

KCB beat hosts Nakuru RFC 36-0 to be crowned the 2012 Prinsloo Sevens Champions in a fascinating main cup final played at the Nakuru Athletics Club on Sunday afternoon.
Oliver Mangemi opened the score sheet with a sleek try giving the Banker’s a glimpse of the title, while teammate Francis Mwita try and a conversion by Collins Kimani sealed the win.    
In the Plate final, Christies Sevens and Dala Sevens champions Quins beat Blak Blad 12-5 to clinch the plate title. Sunday wasn’t the day Kenya Harlequins would make a third consecutive title in the national sevens circuit after it was knocked out of the main cup by a gallant Nakuru side in the semifinals.
However, Harlequins remains a confident side after it had played without 10 of their regular starters who were released to the National Sevens rugby team camp at the Moi International Sports Centre – Kasarani.
In the Bowl final, Homeboys beat Mean Machine 12-5 in a thrilling bowl final to bag the bowl title.
In the Shield final, Nondies beat a resilient Eldoret side 10-0 to win the Shield.  
Action resumes in the capital Nairobi this coming weekend (8-9th September) for the Kabeberi Sevens.
Kabeberi 7s is a rugby tournament, which is part of the National Sevens Circuit in memory of the Late George Mwangi Kabeberi who played for Mwamba RFC.
The tourney is hosted by Mwamba RFC, Kenya’s first club to be formed by indigenous Africans in 1977.  

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...