Sunday, September 23, 2012

South Africa EPD wins Safari Sevens

South Africa Sevens Elite Player Development (EPD) squad beat Kenya Morans 21-17 to lift the 2012 Safaricom Safari Sevens title in a thrilling main cup final played at the Nyayo National Stadium, Sunday evening.  
Morans, inspired by arguably the man of the match Dennis Ombachi were on the way to claim the prestigious Robin Cahill trophy until a late try by SAs Justin Geduld denied the gallant side the top honors.

Earlier in the day, South Africa 7s EPD beat Kenya Shujaa 29-7. Shujaa, captained by Collins Injera came back strong to beat Spain 21-7 and finish in third place.
Kenya Morans beat Spain 17-0 in the semifinals to reach the main cup final in a front of cheering home fans.

In the Bowl Finals, Western Province from South Africa emerged the winners beating Kenya Chairman Select 10-26.
In the Shield Finals, Kenya University Select lost to Zambia 21-15.
In the Plate Finals, Samurai (New Zealand) beat Grenoble (France) 40-14 to claim the Plate title.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...