Sunday, November 11, 2012

Raymond Bett is the 2012 Athens Classic Marathon Winner

Raymond Kimutai Bett emerged the 2012 Athens Classic Marathon Winner after posting a remarkable time of 2 hours, 11 minutes and 35 seconds on Sunday in Greek’s Capital.

Bett who is also the 2010 winner, broke the race record set in 2011 by Abdelkerim Boubker of Morocco. The 28-year-old was followed by five of his compatriots with Paul Kosgei coming second in 2:12.20 and Alex Kirui third at 2:12.26.

In the women’s division, Consalater Chemtai Yadaa of Kenya emerged the winner in a time of 2:40.00 ahead of Ukraine’s Svitlana Stanko (2:40.07).  

The Athens Classic Marathon that is in its 30th year was started in memory of Grigoris Lambrakis, who was a Member of Parliament, Balkan Games Champion and pacifist. He is remembered for organizing the first Peace Marathon race.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...