Saturday, December 8, 2012

Lawrence Mute named 2012 Jurist of the Year

Former Kenya National Commission on Human Rights (KNCHR) commissioner Lawrence Murugu Mute is the 2012 Jurist of the Year. Mute was honoured by the International Commission for Jurists (ICJ-Kenya) with the prestigious award for his outstanding contribution to human rights advocacy in the country.
The award was presented by ICJ-Kenya chairperson Albert Kamunde in a ceremony held in the capital.  

Previous recipients of the award include Justice Daniel Musinga (2011), Mr. Nzamba Kitonga (2010), Hon. Kenneth Marende (2009), Justice Phillip Waki (2008), Mr. Samuel Kivuitu (2007) and Njoki Ndungu (2006). 

About the Jurist of the Year Award  
Established in 1993, the Jurist of the Year Award is an annual award that recognizes and acknowledges jurists who have consistently, fearlessly and impartially promoted the rule of law and human rights in Kenya during the year.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...