Saturday, November 24, 2012

King Rudisha, Makori feted at IAAF Awards

World 800m record holder David Lekuta Rudisha and Nation Sports Editor, Elias Makori were honored at the prestigious IAAF Awards. 

The awards, which coincided with the International Association on Athletics Federations (IAAF) centenary celebrations, were announced on Saturday at a lunchtime gala held in Pullman Skipper Hotel, Barcelona.

Rudisha was honored with the Male Performance of the Year Award, succeeding compatriot Vivian Cheriuyot who scooped the award last year.

Having missed the Beijing Olympics through injury, the Rudisha debuted at the London Games to set the world record of 1:40.91 beating the 1:41.01 he set two years previously.

Rudisha who won Athlete of the Year Award back in 2010, was up against Jamaican Sprinter Usain Bolt and United States’s Aries Meritt (110-metre hurdles Olympic Champion and World record holder) for the 2012 IAAF World Athlete of the Year Award.

Makori Wins IAAF World Journalist of the Year   

Veteran journalist Elias Makori made history when he became the first Kenyan to win the World Journalist of the Year Award.
The founder of the annual Safaricom Gusii Golden Road Races has extensively covered major athletics events including the Olympics, World Championships, and Commonwealth Games.

Usain Bolt named IAAF Sportsperson of the Year

The Jamaican Ace picked the top Male Athlete award for the fourth time having won back in 2008, 2009 and 2011.  
Bolt was tough to beat having defended his 100m and 200m titles at the 2012 Summer Olympics, London.  

Allyson Felix Wins Female Athlete of the Year

United States sprinter Allyson Felix who bagged the Olympic 200m, 4X100m, and 4X400m relay titles was named the Female Athlete of the Year.
Allyson was up against New Zealand’s shot putter Valerie Adams, and British heptathlete Jessica Ennis.  

Other Winners:

  • Female Performance of the Year – US 4X100m Relay Team
  • IAAF Inspirational  Award – Aries Meritt (USA)
  • Male Rising Star Award – Keshorn Walcott (TRI)
  • Female Rising Star Award – Antonique Strachan (BAH)
  • Coaching Lifetime Achievement Award – Glen Mills (JAM)
  • Male Master Athlete of the Year – Rob Lida (USA)
  • Female Master Athlete of the Year –Lynn Ventris (AUS)
Hongera !!

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...