Tuesday, September 25, 2012

Inaugural Mt. Kenya Sevens slated for this weekend

Only two months have passed after the first rugby tournament was held in Eastern Province, the Masaku Sevens, now another first of its kind tournament will be held in the Mount Kenya region, this weekend.
Dubbed Mt. Kenya Sevens, the tourney will be held at the Dedan’s Park, Kimathi Univeristy in Nyeri County from Saturday 29th to 30th September.    

Kenya Women Sevens squad named
The Kenya women 7s squad (better known as the Kenyan Lioness) that will compete for a slot at the 2013 Rugby Women Cup Sevens this weekend in Rabat, Morocco has been named.
Here is the Kenyan Lioness Squad:
Doreen Remour (Captain), Mary Otieno, Linda Nandwa, Mary Musieka, Irene Otieno, Rachel Odhiambo, Catherine Abila, Philadelphia Olando, Stacy Awuor, Janet Owuor, Linda Nandwa, Angela Olum, and Celestine Masinde.
The Non-travelling Squad: Camyline Awour, Robina Wambui, and Adelaide Nasambu.
The Team will be accompanied by Kevin Wambua (coach), Enos Otieno (assistant coach), Doris Mwanzia (team manager), and Ben Mahinda (physiotherapist).
The team will be playing without the late inspirational captain Aberdeen Shikoyi who passed away in April.

RIP Shikoyi 
To the young people I say, you are a gift to your communities and indeed the world. You are our hope and our future.” – Wangari Maathai's Nobel Lecture, delivered in Oslo, in 2004.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...